

BOARD OF GOVERNORS <u>TOC</u>

A-3 POLICY Election/Oversight

The Board of Governors shall consist of eleven members. Two members shall be elected for staggered four-year terms from each of the five election districts comprising the fifteen-county Southeast Community College Area. One member shall be elected at-large from the entire Area, for a four-year term.

The Board of Governors shall function as the policy-forming and legislative body of the College and shall conduct itself at all times so as to keep the welfare of the College and the Area foremost in mind. It shall perform all acts required of it by the statutes of the State of Nebraska and accept full responsibility for the general control and direction of two-year, postsecondary education in the Southeast Community College Area.

It is the responsibility of the Board of Governors to appoint, support, and evaluate the President and to delegate the responsibilities for the execution of its policies directly to the President.

The Board of Governors exists as an entity only when it is in session. No member of the Board, team of the Board, or staff member of the College shall have the power to act for the Board, or to imply an action of the Board, without specific approval authorized by the Board with record of such action appearing in the official minutes.

Adopted: 07/15/97, 07/19/22

Reviewed: 10/03/18, 02/01/20, 07/19/22

Revised: 02/01/20, 07/19/22

Web link:

Tags: Board of Governors, vacancy, appointment

<u>Table Of Contents</u>
Policy A-3 approved by Board of Governors

7.19.2022

Effective 8.19.2022